Social top

JTTP 2023

Results of the 24th Jeu de temps / Times Play

Results | Artists and Submissions | Events | Awards | Jury

Recent works by young and/or emerging electroacoustic artists from or living in Canada are celebrated in JTTP 2023, the 24th edition of Jeu de temps / Times Play coordinated by the Canadian Electroacoustic Community (CEC).

image image image image image image image
JTTP 2023 winners and award recipients (left to right): Mimi Allard, Jules Bastin-Fontaine, Julie Delisle, José-Gabriel Bazán-Gauthier, Émile Gingras, Kristian North, Parisa Sabet Sarvestani. [Click image to enlarge]

Jeu de temps / Times Play (JTTP) is an annual project aimed at supporting and encouraging new works by young and/or emerging electroacoustic artists from or living in Canada. A diverse international jury adjudicates and selects the prize-winning works and award recipients. For each edition of the project, a series of events are coordinated featuring selected JTTP works, including radio broadcasts of JTTP submissions and performances of the selected works in concert by our Project Partners in Canada and abroad. Cash and prizes are awarded to the creators of the top-placing works and the thematic award recipients, and all submissions are featured on these pages and in Sonus, the CEC’s online Jukebox for electroacoustic and related practices.

Prizewinners and Thematic Award Recipients

The following works have been selected by the international jury. Visit this page for biographical information on the artists and programme notes for their selected works. 1[1. Also check out the JTTP 2023 Photo Album on the CEC’s Facebook page for images of the prizewinners and award recipients, as well as pictures taken at events where JTTP 2023 works were presented.]

JTTP Prizes

  1. Julie Delisle — Pipa aura Suichi (2023 / 11:03)
  2. Jules Bastin-Fontaine — Composition acousmatique 1 (2023 / 24:48)
  3. Émile Gingras & José-Gabriel Bazán-Gauthier — Fumigènes (2023 / 16:05)
  4. Parisa Sabet Sarvestani — Silent (2022 / 8:00)
  5. Mimi Allard — Fleur de papier fleur de métal (2023 / 6:21)

Thematic Award Recipients

Participating Artists and Works

A total of 34 recent works by 37 electroacoustic artists living in Canada, Norway and the USA were submitted to JTTP 2023. Here you can read the programme notes and artist bios for all submissions or just sit back and enjoy the pieces — acousmatic and videomusic works, and more!

Events, Concerts and Broadcasts

Over the course of 2023–24, a series of events feature the selected works from JTTP 2023. Visit this page for information about upcoming broadcasts and concert presentations in Canada and around the world.

JTTP Prizes and Thematic Awards

Each year a broad range Project Partners from Canada and around the world offer a generous amount of support that is essential to the success of JTTP. With their donations and support, the CEC is able to offer prizes to recognize the selected works each year.


This year’s international jury was comprised of 14 individuals with a variety of artistic backgrounds, experiences and interests: artists and performers, people working in radio, concert production and arts service organizations, educators and selected artists from past editions of JTTP.

James Andean (CEC; De Montfort University)
Diego Bermudez Chamberland (Independent)
Kari Besharse (University of New Orleans)
Alejandro Brianza (Universidad Nacional de Lanús)
Magdalena Buchwald (Independent)
Simon Chioini (CEC; Independent)
Iris Garrelfs (Goldsmiths, University of London)
Barbara Golden (Independent)
Sarah Harris (CEC)
Darsha Hewitt (CEC; Independent)
Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner (University of North Texas)
Rick Nance (CEC; Independent)
Shawn Pinchbeck (CEC; BEAMS)
Ana Maria Rodriguez (Independent)

Fondation SOCAN Foundation

Social bottom